NJSIAA releases state tournament brackets

The NJSIAA has released the official brackets for the 2022 state basketball tournaments, the first complete tournament in three years.

The COVID-19 pandemic shutdown the 2020 event in the group semifinal stage, and the NJSIAA didn’t hold a tournament during the abbreviated 2021 season.

On the boys’ side, two CJSR-area teams earned top seeds, as expected. Colonia earned the No. 1 seed in North 2, Group 3; Watchung Hills picked up a top seed in North 2, Group 4. In all, 35 boys’ teams from the area made he tournament.

On the girls’ side, Rutgers Prep got a top-seed in Non-Public South B, with 38 teams qualifying.

Scroll down for the complete sectional pairings for all sections including a Greater Middlesex Conference or Somerset County team and CJSR-area teams in bold.

Groups 2 and 4 start play on Monday, February 28, while Groups 1 and 3 start on Tuesday, March 1. Non-Public sections start on Wednesday, March 2.


Central Jersey Group 4:
16-Sayreville at 1-Marlboro
9-Freehold Twp. at 8-Howell
12-Montgomery at 5-Hightstown
13-Middletown South at 4-South Brunswick
14-Rancocas Valley at 3-Jackson Memorial
11-East Brunswick at 6-Northern Burlington
10-Manalapan at 7-Trenton
15-Old Bridge at 2-Monroe

Central Jersey Group 3:
16-Steiner at 1-Manasquan
9-Middletown North at 8-Red Bank Regional
12-Somerville at 5-Ewing
13-Matawan at 4-Lawrence
14-Colts Neck at 3-Brick Memorial
11-Brick Twp. at 6-Hamilton West
10-Hopewell Valley at 7-Jackson Liberty
15-Wall at 2-Robbinsville

Central Jersey Group 2:
16-Metuchen at 1-Rumson-Fair Haven
9-Hillside at 8-Delaware Valley
12-New Providence at 5-Governor Livingston
13-Middlesex at 4-Holmdel
14-Johnson at 3-South River
11-Roselle at 6-Raritan
10-Spotswood at 7-Nottingham
15-Monmouth at 2-Bound Brook

Central Jersey Group 1:
16-Brearley at 1-Burlington City
9-Highland Park at 8-Pt. Pleasant Beach
12-Asbury Park at 5-Florence
13-Academy for Urban Leadership Charter at 4-Perth Amboy Tech
14-Henry Hudson at 3-New Egypt
11-South Amboy at 6-Shore
10-Manville at 7-South Hunterdon
15-Somerset Tech at 2-Keyport

North Jersey, Section 2, Group 4:
16-Hillsborough at 1-Watchung Hills
9-Elizabeth at 8-JP Stevens
12-Piscataway at 5-Newark East Side
13-Hunterdon Central at 4-Franklin
14-Phillipsburg at 3-Linden
11-Bridgewater-Raritan at 6-Ridge
10-Edison at 7-Scotch Plains-Fanwood
15-Plainfield at 2-Westfield

North Jersey, Section 2, Group 3:
16-Nutley at 1-Colonia
9-Cranford at 8-Chatham
12-Newark Collegiate at 5-Mendham
13-Warren Hills at 14-Mendham
14-Summit at 3-West Morris
11-Payne Tech at 6-Belleville
10-Mount Olive at 7-Millburn
15-Snyder at 2-South Plainfield

Non-Public South A
9-Camden Catholic at 8-Paul VI, winner at 1-Red Bank Catholic
12-Notre Dame at 5-St. Augustine
13-Pingry at 4-St. Joseph-Metuchen
14-Union Catholic at 3-Rutgers Prep
11-Immaculata at 6-Christian Brothers Academy
10-Donovan Catholic at 7-St. John Vianney, winner at 2-St. Thomas Aquinas

Non-Public North B
9-Timothy Christian at 8-Wardlaw-Hartridge, winner at 1-Roselle Catholic
12-Eastern Christian at 5-Sinai Christian, winner at 4-Morris Catholic
11-Montclair-Kimberley at 6-Montclair Immaculata, winner at 3-Gill St. Bernard’s
10-Koinonia at 7-St Mary-Rutherford, winner at 2-Saddle River Day

Non-Public South B
9-Wildwood Catholic at 8-Gloucester Catholic, winner at 1-Trenton Catholic
12-Mater Dei at 5-Doane Academy
13-Princeton Day at 4-Holy Spirit
14-Moorestown Friends at 3-Ranney
11-St. Rose at 6-Bishop Eustace
10-Calvary Christian at 7-Holy Cross, winner at 2-St. Joseph-Hammonton


Central Jersey Group 4:
16-West Windsor-Plainsboro South at 1-Hightstown
9-Montgomery at 8-North Brunswick
12-Rancocas Valley at 5-Marlboro
13-Princeton at 4-Middletown South
14-West Windsor-Plainsboro North at 3-Monroe
11-Howell at 6-East Brunswick
10-Old Bridge at 7-South Brunswick
15-Freehold Twp. at 2-Jackson Memorial

Central Jersey Group 3:
16-Brick Memorial at 1-Ewing
9-South Plainfield at 8-Robbinsville
12-Ocean Twp. at 5-Red Bank Regional
13-JFK at 4-Colts Neck
14-Middletown North at 3-Wall
11-Hopewell Valley at 6-Allentown
10-Somerville at 7-Neptune
15-Steinert at 2-Colonia

Central Jersey Group 2:
16-Nottingham at 1-Manasquan
9-Johnosn at 8-South River
12-Metuchen at 5-Middlesex
13-Roselle at 4-Holmdel
14-Monmouth at 3-Rumson-Fair Haven
11-Delaware Valley at 6-Bound Brook
10-Spotswood at 7-Governor Livingston
15-Bordentown at 2-New Providence

Central Jersey Group 1:
16-Keyport at 1-New Egypt
9-Perth Amboy Tech at 8-Pt. Pleasant Beach
12-Highland Park at 5-Shore
13-Keansburg at 4-Somerset Tech
14-Henry Hudson at 3-South Hunterdon
11-Manville at 6-Florence
10-Dunellen at 7-Burlington City
15-Roselle Park at 2-Woodbridge Academy

North Jersey, Section 2, Group 4:
16-Bridgewater-Raritan at 1-Westfield
9-Watchung Hills at 8-Phillipsburg
12-Elizabeth at 5-Ridge
13-Irvington at 4-Bayonne
14-Union at 3-Scotch Plains-Fanwood
11-NEwark East Side at 6-Hillsborough
10-Hunterdon Central at 7-Woodbridge
15-JP Stevens at 2-Franklin

North Jersey, Section 2, Group 2:
16-Science Park at 1-Hackettstown
9-Passaic Valley at 8-Verona
12-Lodi at 5-Caldwell
13-Ridgefield Park at 4-Newark Central
14-Leonia at 3-Rutherford
11-Whippany Park at 6-Lyndhurst
10-Bernards at 7-Hanover Park
15-Newark Tech at 2-Madison

Non-Public North A:
9-Hudson Catholic at 8-Pingry, winner at 1-Immaculate Heart
12-St. Elizabeth at 5-Pope John
13-Holy Angels at 4-Paramus Catholic
14-Kent Place at 3-Mount St. Dominic
11-Oak Knoll at 6-Dwight-Englewood
10-Montclair-Kimberley at 7-Morristown Beard, winner at 2-Newark Academy

Non-Public South A:
9-Notre Dame at 8-Immaculata, winner at 1-St. John Vianney
12-Union Catholic at 5-Camden Catholic
13-Princeton Day at 4-St. Thomas Aquinas
11-Trinity Hall at 6-Donovan Catholic, winner at 3-Red Bank Catholic
10-Our Lady of Mercy at 7-Mount St. Mary, winner at 2-Paul VI

Non-Public North B:
9-Hawthorne Christian at 8-St. Mary-Rutherford, winner at 1-Saddle River Day
First-round bye, then 5-Lodi Immaculate at 4-Gill St. Bernard’s
First-round bye, then 6-Roselle Catholic at 3-Montclair-Immaculate
First-round bye, then 7-Villa Walsh at 2-Morris Catholic

Non-Public South B:
9-Mater Dei at 8-Holy Spirit, winner at 1-Rutgers Prep
12-Holy Cross at 5-St. Rose
13-Trenton Catholic at 4-Bishop Eustace
11-Moorestown Friends at 6-Ranney, winner at 3-Gloucester Catholic
10-Timothy Christian at 7-Calvary Christian, winner at 2-Wildwood Catholic

Leave a Reply